Block Island Residents Association announces Island Treasure awardee

Fri, 08/19/2022 - 2:15pm

The Block Island Residents Association is pleased to announce that Jeffery M. Wright, President of the Block Island Power Company is this year’s 2022 recipient of the Island Treasure Award. The award will be presented at the Annual Meeting of the Block Island Residents Association held on Sunday, September 11, at 5 p.m. at St. Andrew Parish Center.
In making this award, BIRA recognizes the enormous contribution that Jeffery has made to our community, as the driving force in dramatically improving BIPCO, including significant infrastructure improvements, important and effective interactions with National Grid, faster and better power outage response times and impressive communication of the work BIPCO is doing or reporting on regarding weather issues, power outages and repair times, wind generator questions and the National Grid undersea cable. Through his leadership of the power company, Block Island has been the beneficiary of all of the above, as well as the now-reliable delivery of power. His timely, friendly and informative emails keep us all up-to-date on all types of situations, crisis and otherwise, even as they are unfolding. In short, Jeffery has put power into the Block Island Power Company.
BIRA President Joe Loya commented, “I speak not only for the members of the Block Island Residents Association but also for the entire Block Island community in expressing our heartfelt appreciation to Jeffery Wright for his important work in keeping the lights on in our community and most importantly, keeping us all informed in a timely fashion. Many of us remember the days prior to the creation of the Block Island Utility District and the leadership of Mr. Wright. Power outages were frequent and often prolonged, without the benefit of our knowing the source of the outage and its estimated duration. Thanks to Jeffery, this has now changed and Block Island is most grateful.”
The public is invited and encouraged to attend the presentation of the award and to show our gratitude and appreciation to our “Island Treasure.”